Thing 14: Powerful Presentations

1.  Blendspace for Geography for Adult learners:  https://www.blendspace.com/lessons/vZ1F7y9r2EaxFA/geography

2.  As a teacher of adult education students, I have found that teaching reading isn’t enough.  My students do not have the background knowledge they need.  So I use http://www.newsela.com to find current articles that focus on Social Studies and Science.  The new GED integrates all of this together in its tests.

2.  Regarding best practices, many adults do not feel their votes count, so I have made a point of using as much of my reading material as I can to incorporate social studies.  I am constantly bird walking and showing on the globe where these events occur and discussing the ramifications the event has to us.
The problem with the Blendspace project is that most of my students do not have a computer, they have little time to do any kind of homework, and the computer lab at school does not lend itself to group discussion.  So, I am planning on providing it to my students, but then, showing each video as part of a classroom activity.

I think in this way, we will meet most, if not all, of the social studies goals.
Students will be prepared to:
Gather Information
Think and Communicate Critically
Understand Information
Learn and Consider Issues Collaboratively
Analyze Issues
Learn Independently
Draw and Justify Conclusions
Create Knowledge
Organize and Communicate Information
Act Ethically
THE GOALS OF SOCIAL STUDIES are to prepare responsible citizens.

In te same way, we will also be meeting many of the SAMS levels… we will start with using tech as a tool substitute for old fashioned reel to reel movies, but at the A level, it is a much better substitute. We will be able to explore Google Earth independently at the M level.

3.  Since my students never have tests or quizzes until they actually are ready to take the practice GED test, there may be 3 to 8 people in my class on any given day, and since my students are reading from 3rd grade to 11th grade levels, a rubric (in the normal sense) is not really realistic.  So, I plan on having the students do:

  • puzzles… Maps of the continents, countries, states
  • group discussion of comparison and contrasts… How are we alike and different?  How are boundaries established?  What has influenced human development?  How is the ecosystem different once people arrived?  etc.
  • creating maps and other artifacts to enhance learning

Leave a Reply

